April 17, 2005

AWARD: Journalist of the Year

From a campus press release:

Miguel Morales, managing editor for The Campus Ledger, was named College Journalist of the Year by the Kansas Associated Collegiate Press at its convention in Wichita April 10-11.

The paper also won 19 individual awards.

Morales has worked as reporter, writing coach and editor-in-chief for The Ledger.

“I always knew one person could make a difference. It’s encouraging to know that sometimes that one person gets recognition,” Morales said.

In addition to Journalist of the Year for two-year schools in Kansas, for which he won a plaque and $250, Morales also won five individual awards.

Writers from The Ledger swept the feature category as the paper won first, second and third place. The Ledger received a bronze medal in the overall category. Other individual winners include:

  • First place – Miguel Morales, editorial writing; Shanxi Upsdell, feature writing; Aaron Whitebread, sports column writing
  • Second Place – Miguel Morales, feature writing and headline writing Kevin Mimms, editorial writing
  • Third Place – Miguel Morales, feature writing; Joshua Seiden, sports column writing; Dane Talley, news writing
  • Honorable Mention – Miguel Morales, editorial writing;Lisa Ash, single ad design; Robert Heishman, news photography; Kevin Mimms, sports feature writing; Shanxi Upsdell, column writing; Aaron Whitebread, sports column writing