September 10, 2008

NEWS: Innovation Validation

Major League
Will college strike out or hit a home run as it pitches to regain League of Innovation status?

When Charles Carlsen resigned following allegations he sexually harassed several female employees, the college's membership in the prestigious League of Innovation was in jeapoardy.

Last spring the college passed phase one of reaffirmation into the League. Entering the second phase requires a site visit by League board members.

A former JCCC president currently sits on the League's board and serves as a League Senior Fellow. Larry Tyree, former interim president, represented JCCC on the League's board after Carlsen resigned.

Tyree now serves as interim president of Monroe Community College in Rochester, N.Y., which is also one of the 19 members comprising the League's board.

Community Invited
League representatives will meet with the JCCC Board of Trustees, Sept. 16.

The next morning the public is invited to attend presentations to the League representatives focusing on diversity, sustainability and other campus issues.

This is the message posted today on the college's electronic mail server, Infolist:

JCCC is one of 19 community colleges in the country that sits on the Board of Trustees for the prestigious League for Innovation in Community Colleges. Every time there is a CEO turnover at one of these schools, it must undergo a “reaffirmation” with the League. JCCC successfully completed Phase I of this reaffirmation process last spring with submission and League acceptance of its reaffirmation application. (This document can be found at .) The next and final phase consists of a campus visit.

On Tuesday, September 16, and Wednesday, September 17, President Jean Goodnow of Delta College (Michigan), President Steve Johnson of Sinclair Community College (Ohio), and League CEO Gerardo de los Santos will be visiting JCCC to conclude the reaffirmation process. They will be meeting with the JCCC Board of Trustees the evening of the 16th and will be hearing presentations on new initiatives at the school on the morning of the 17th. Here is the presentation schedule for Wednesday morning:

Time Innovation Presenters
9:00 – 9:20 a.m. Center for Sustainability
Jay Antle, Deb Williams, and Tim Gelvin
9:20 – 9:40 a.m. Diversity Initiatives Carmaletta Williams and Sean Daley
9:40 – 10:00 a.m. Bioscience Academy, KC Wired, Research Triangle Sally Winship, Tim Gelvin, and Luanne Wolfgram
10:00 – 10:20 a.m. Oral Health on Wheels Heather Flick
10:20 – 10:40 a.m. College Scholars Jim Leiker and Ellyn Mulcahy
10:40 – 11:00 a.m. Facilities Funding, Deferred Maintenance, Gateway and Lenexa
Jerry Baird
11:00 – 11:20 a.m. Teaching, Learning and Engagement Initiative Dana Grove, Bruce Harvey, and Rick Moehring
11:20 – 11:40 a.m. Edible Schoolyard/Wysong Challenge Joe Sopcich, David Smith, and Felix Sturmer

These presentations will be in the Hudson Auditorium in the Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art, and they are open to all wishing to attend. You are not expected to remain the entire morning, so come and go as your schedule permits. We will be happy to see you there. If you have any questions, do not hesitate to contact Dana Grove.